Banana Bread Ice Cream

I have a confession, last week I didn’t want to workout at all.  Do anything but sleep and eat.  No I’m not sick.  And on Friday, I almost didn’t go to Pilates. Why? because I was way beyond nauseous, and didn’t want to be flailing around on a ball while being nauseous.  This is what happens to me right before Mother Nature takes over.  Make that Reason #956 why I will never have kids: Who wants to be nauseous all the time, seriously? I’m like this every month, I could imagine if I had a kid, it would be tens times worse.  I mean, I have bad enough cramps, where I always end up curled up in a ball trying to soothe the pain with pounds of chocolate.  *FYI, chocolate really does make it better, and so do carbs*.

20130929-065039.jpg

Anywho, let’s get to the weekend!! Friday was defiantly a cardigan day.  I was in heaven.  And have now decided, I really need to invest in more, especially since I only have two haha.

A run was done on Saturday, a measly 2.5 miles, I wasn’t feeling, so I’m not going to worry about it, anything is better than nothing! I just for those 2.5 miles I did increase my speed ever 1/2 mile.  I’ll go hard this week ;)

20130929-065056.jpg

Taylor was in town this weekend :) and we somehow ended up at our favorite place, Togo’s! Seriously can’t get enough, I think if I want to end up not being bankrupt when I’m done with school, I need to make sure I live away from one of these places haha. I got my usualy (caesar salad), and he got their new wrap, it was an Asian Pork wrap.  He said it was spicy, and he devoured it, so I take it, it was good haha.

20130929-065104.jpg

Pretty much this weekend was spent catching up on our shows, and eating too much chocolate.  And the funny thing was, I was looking at the ingredients and fat in the 72% versus the 86%, and in both the 72 was better! I find that crazy.  You would think the higher the percentage the better it would be.  I guess not with Ghiradelli, but Trader Joe’s 86% dark chocolate, that’s on a whole other level all by its self!

20130929-065118.jpg

Oh and this fool, she was attached to us all weekend, as usual.  And for some reason, at one point, decided to just make herself comfy in the sink and fall asleep while I pushed my cuticles….She is an odd one, but she makes odd so adorable :)

20130929-115554.jpg

And the winner of this weekend goes to…….Banana Bread Ice Cream!!! Well it was inspired by it.  I was trying to find a way to get some fall-ness into my dessert, especially since it seems that everyone and their mother is eating and making sweet pumpkin desserts (Oh I’m not hating, I’m jealous).  So I tried my hand at making a Paleo Ice Cream that tasted like banana bread, and I think I did a pretty damn good job, and got close, but it needs work.  But heres the recipe:

  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • About a Tablespoon of cinnamon
  • 2 frozen bananas
  • About 2 teaspoons Vanilla extract
  • walnuts
  1. Over medium heat, melt the coconut milk, honey, blended bananas (I used a Yonanas to blend the bananas), cinnamon, and vanilla.
  2. Transfer that to a container and place in freezer for about 30 minutes (or enough for it to cool off)
  3. Turn on ice cream maker and pour in, let it churn until desired consistency.
  4. Once to desired consistency, take walnut (how ever you want them, halves, quarters, or chopped up) and slowly add them in while the ice cream maker churns
  5. And enjoy :)

I do think it either needs a little more cinnamon or nutmeg though, but I will defiantly be messing around with this in the future!

Do you watch New Girl or The Mindy Project??

What’d you do this weekend??

Do your animals sleep in weird places??

6 thoughts on “Banana Bread Ice Cream

  1. Sometimes we have weeks like that – where working out is the last thing on our minds. I certainly have times like that and while it’s frustrating to feel like motivation is lost, it’s not gone forever! And you’re right, 2.5 miles is MUCH better than nothing at all. :) Good work girly. I LOVE cardigans! I have so many and I wish I could wear them work more often but they aren’t dressy enough (according to my office policies lol!).
    YUM to that ice cream! That sounds awesome! When you perfect it, you should tell Rebekah so she can make it for me! I’m dependent on her cooking me things. :)
    Haha Little Miss in the sink! My animal sleeps anywhere I am… Couch, bed, blankets, whatever I’m doing, he’s doing. He’s like my mini me in animal form. Love it. :)

    • True!!! Those are the weeks where I lay on the floor before a workou dreaming of what it would be like to be done lol. What??? Not dressy enough? That makes me think my standards are low hahaha. I will!! I’ll have to see her an email….aw your little shadow :)

Leave a Reply

