Benefits of Dark Leafy Greens

Source

Dark leafy greens bring a lot of benefits! I, on one hand love them to death, and would be a culprit of probably eating too many of them haha.  For me they make/keep my skin under control – always a win in my book!  Here are some of there benefits, and where you can find these:

  • Lettuces - Which are, Romaine, Green Leaf, Arugula, and Butterhead.  They offer Vitamins A, C, and K.  They help improve eyesight, bone health, skin elasticity, and help your blood clot normally – when ate regularly.
  • Cruciferous Leafy Greens - Which include, Kale, Mustard Greens, Collard Greens, Cabbage, and Broccoli.  These are high in nutrients.  They contain glucosinolates (these inhibit the growth of certain cancers).  Magnesium and Tryptophan are plentiful in these, and they boost heart health and brain function.  Kale contains Calcium and Potassium.  Kale also contains Lutein & Zeaxathin, which may help prevent Age Related Macular Degeneration.
  • Spinach & Swiss Chard – These two are available throughout the year.  They are abundant in Iron – which carries oxygen to our blood.  When looking for them, just look for the vibrant leaves with bold colors.  Swiss Chard contains 13 different antioxidants including Kampferol & Syringic Acid.  Kampferol helps protect the heart.  Syringic Acid helps control blood sugar levels.  But be careful of eating too much Swiss Chard, it does contain oxalic acid, which can deplete bones and teeth of calcium
  • Edible Green Leaves – These include, Dandelion, Red Clover, Plantain, Watercress, and Chickweed.  Dandelion greens promote a healthy liver. Plantain & Watercress keep skin cells healthy.  Red Clover regulates hormones.  Chickweed  has anti-inflammatory properties.
  • Collard & Mustard Greens – Contains Vitamins C, E, K, beta-carotene, and Omega – 3 fatty acids.  They also contain Phyonutrients (Glucosinolates) which help detox the body and lower oxidative stress – which decreases the cells chances of becoming cancerous.  Mustard greens have been shown to lower cholesterol by binding to bile acid and pulling it out of the body.  They too are a great source of Vitamins A & C, and antioxidants beta-carotene & maganese.  They also contain a high amount of Glucosinolates.
  • Turnip Greens – It is higher in Glucosinolates than Kale.  Contains Vitamins, A, B6, E, C, & K, Calcium, Copper, & Iron. They are high in fiber (lowers cholesterol), Folate (supports cardiovascular health), Iron (important for development of healthy red blood cells).

Got my info from HERE & HERE :)

Your thoughts on Dark Leafy Greens??

Do you eat them already?? If not, are you going to start adding them to your mix?? If yes, which are your favorite??

6 thoughts on “Benefits of Dark Leafy Greens

  1. OMG. This is great. But here’s where you’ll hate me.
    I just can’t.
    I try so hard to eat dark, green, leafy lettuce. And I just can’t. I hate raw spinach. I hate kale (unless it’s cooked into a chip in which case, YUM!).
    In spite of my hate of these wonderfully healthy greens, I am able to still incorporate them in forms where they aren’t raw – smoothies, baked, mixed into dishes, etc. But I LOVE that they have lots of vitamin K. I need lots of that in my life!
    Being in the south, collard greens are a staple in most southern dishes. I can sometimes handle them, but still.. bleh… haha!
    When I eat lettuce, it’s usually butter lettuce, romaine or the biggest of all sins – iceberg. Oh well.

    • The way I got started was by adding strawberries to a spinach salad or adding the little clementines. Maybe try that? I use to be the same way, but the sweetness helped me stomach it :)

Leave a Reply

